Spring Cleaning

P1170998.JPG

Don’t forget to go through your books while spring cleaning. We donate to the school, our local retirement home, and have this handy dandy box by the door for all the neighborhood kids and little human’s friends. What do you do with your old books?

Author: foguth

Though Jeanne began her career technical writing, her love of romantic-suspense, whether it be present, future or in an unknown galaxy inspired her to write the novels she wanted to find in bookstores. Since marrying, Jeanne and her husband have lived from the arctic to the tropics, as well as from yacht to off-grid mountain home. She loves using vivid colors and flowing shapes in her oil paintings as well as creating edible landscapes. At present, she is finishing writing the Chatterre Trilogy and working on a new episode for The Sea Purrtector Files. You can always find out what she is working on and/or contact her at: www.jeannefoguth.com.

16 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning”

      1. Overflowing bookcase *ahem* we have ca. 6000 books in the house. Yes, we have read them, most of them several times. I have given some away that I was dissapointed about or that I could give to people I know they would care about. It’s so hard for me to give books away.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is very difficult for me to give away books, too. This is why I mainly gift to the library – not only do I know they will take care of them, but if I do miss one, I can borrow it, at least for a little while πŸ˜‰

        Like

  1. All except about a dozen of our treasured books were destroyed when we got flooded by Hurricane Irene. Good friends donated lots of books to us and we are accumulating others bit by bit, so no giveaways at this point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We literally ‘rehomed’ thousands of books eleven years ago, when we moved onto our catamaran (had a mega weight and space issue). However, everyone in our family is a bit of a ‘book-a-holic’, so we’ve collected more than space can swallow… at this moment, the guest bath and the laundry room are the only 2 rooms in the house, which don’t have a least a small stack of books…. Getting these sorted is a major part of our cleaning.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Years ago, some friends had their library in their basement… it flooded. Horrible experience. The worst part was that a lot of the books were super expensive (the wife was an MD), so not only were they out hundreds for some books, she was missing a diagnostic resource. Floods are quite horrible.

        Like

  2. That is a great idea to have the box. I donate to the library in the next town, they have a huge book sale twice a year. One time I brought some into my library and they told me to take them back until it was closer to their book sale so I just ended up donating them to the other town- when I decide to get rid of stuff, I want it out before I change my mind πŸ™‚ The retirement home is a good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

