Dander & Atopic Dermatitis in Dogs

Top-10-Dashing-and-Debonair-Dogs-With-Mustaches-10.jpg

I, for one am slightly allergic to dog dander – but not cat dander -, which might explain why i prefer cats.  I thought these to Pinterest info-graphics were interesting & informative because they not only advise us where the allergens occur,  show what a rash can look like, and tell which dog breeds don’t shed. To me, the Atopic Dermatitis chart is on this same general topic, except sort of from the opposite perspective, since it informs us why our dog’s skin has the rash.

538a94748c005c02207a40050a6ed4da.jpg

c45125f25fe7cbcd5f7211eb440c7b4c-1.jpg

Author: foguth

Though Jeanne began her career technical writing, her love of romantic-suspense, whether it be present, future or in an unknown galaxy inspired her to write the novels she wanted to find in bookstores. Since marrying, Jeanne and her husband have lived from the arctic to the tropics, as well as from yacht to off-grid mountain home. She loves using vivid colors and flowing shapes in her oil paintings as well as creating edible landscapes. At present, she is finishing writing the Chatterre Trilogy and working on a new episode for The Sea Purrtector Files. You can always find out what she is working on and/or contact her at: www.jeannefoguth.com.

11 thoughts on “Dander & Atopic Dermatitis in Dogs”

    1. My sister’s Sascha does something similar, which is why I was looking for information on this topic. If/when I discover something specifically cat related, I assure you that I will post it.

      Like

  1. I see they list the standard poodle. I wonder if that includes or excludes the smaller poodles. I only ask because we have a toy poodle and hubby has asthma. Not that it would matter–we would never part with him for any reason! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I suspect that they specified the standard poodle because whoever compiled the list views the smaller breeds as separate. … I suffer from allergies – mainly the airborne pollen sort, but am also slightly allergic to dogs, so I understand you being unwilling to part with your little guy… believe me, you would not want to be around Saphera when she sheds! A couple times, the back yard has literally looked like we’ve had snow!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Personally, I’m not aware of any cat or dog allergies on my part. My poor hubby, on the other hand, learned that he’s allergic to cat dander — we have seven cats! He won’t part with a single one (thank goodness)! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My sister is allergic to cats, which is why she has Siberians, who are supposedly good for allergy sufferers… this might be due to the fact they love to take baths … I’ve often wondered if Purrseidon could have some Siberian in her…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Our seven are just stray kitten take-ins (domestic short hairs and one stray Maine Coone) which may explain why the thought of bathing any of them strikes terror in my heart and visions of shredded skin! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      4. All our pets were ‘found’, so we can’t be certain about their heritage. Everyone gets 1 bath per week….. Purrseidon has learned to turn on the faucet to get extra ones… I’ve resigned myself to this, so am trying to teach her to turn the faucet off, when she’s done.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. We ‘found’ Saphera when she was +/- 6 months old – she was running next to the interstate and was difficult to catch – she loved kids, but doesn’t trust males. We ‘found’ Mr. M living in the crawlspace under a house we used to rent – we suspect he was about 5 years old and it took a long time to gain his trust. Purrseidon was a feral that was found at the neighbor’s, she was about 3-4 weeks old and the dog was treating her like a toy. We knew she was too young to adopt, but didn’t think she’d survive if we waited.
        Mr. M doesn’t like water, but he tolerates his weekly bath – good treats afterward 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

